The Shining

Once a week? Woops. Sorry October.

So, I’m reading The Shining by Stephen King for the first time. Here is a quick reason why this matters to feminism.

I am not even going to claim that The Shining is a feminist novel. It’s not. But what it is is a novel about the battle between irrational masculine anger and intuitive feminine empathy. And, at least at this part of the book, the most powerful and sought after trait is Danny’s “shining” or intuition. Sure, it’s more premonition, but it is a mental ability to feel for other people. And Jack’s brusque forceful masculinity is being basically ridiculed in comparison to his son’s ability to feel and empathize with, well, ghosts and creepy shit.

It’s great. The book is great for a million other reasons, and as I am at the climax now I should be reading not writing, but I feel guilt complexes about not keeping to my word.

More later, promise.

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment