Feminist Thumbs Up!

Woo Hoo! I just read this article from NPR and it made me unbelievably excited. Here is my favorite part, the new video from little Willow Smith (yeah, Will Smith’s kid) who is totally more punk rock than most people I know:

(I can’t seem to make the video embed, while I work on it click here!!!!!!!!!)

I love this! I love this level of empowerment in a 9 year old girl who is loving being a girl. And is not in any hurry to be a grown up, but it still totally approachable and embraceable by an adult audience. I am totally in love with this song and with the video. The article above pretty well sums up why this is the best thing ever, but I just wanted to pass it on. There is so much to love about it. Also, way to go Sesame Street.

Ah! What a great pick me up! This is my new anthem, and I am going to spend real money to buy a physical copy of this album when it comes out. I hope you do too.

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feminist Thumbs Up!

  1. Marc says:

    I’m kinda torn on this one.

    Yes girls rock, go young artists, etc…

    But this is no more empowering to most of the people on the planet then “My Super Sweet Sixteen”, we’re looking at someone who’s probably one of the 1% of richest kids on the planet, getting a video and recording deal, likely largely by virtue of her parents connections.

    I’ll save feeling empowered when someone gets ahead who really had to work at it.

    No comment on the music as pop is not my bag.

Leave a Reply

