Happy International Women’s Day

And if you need any more proof that there is a problem, note that we have made a day to recognize women as if they are a minority that needs to be lifted. 51% of the population and we need a day set aside to recognize our accomplishments. This, friends, is exactly the problem.

I have spent a lot of time today ruminating on exactly what my beliefs are and exactly what I want to see enacted in this world. I had a weighted exchange on ye olde facebook about politics and spent a good part of the day wearing pearls and considering to myself what being a woman does mean and what it should mean. I have spent a long time hesitating to call myself “woman” because it feels too grown up. But I realized today that perhaps it was not the adult aspect but the weakness that scared me from that word. Being a girl or a young lady implies inexperience and thus negates any thoughts of weakness. If you are young than of course you are less equipped. But woman is supposed to be adult and functional and all knowing.

And yet she is not. Woman is still subservient to Man. We are now rehashing a debate that was settled more than 50 years ago because “Woman” has become less important than even gun rights. Do I really have to raise signs for my rights to birth control? We had literally the same fight 50 years ago. 50. Half a century. And yet here we are, back in time, fighting to keep the right to not get pregnant while a Mans boner is still covered by insurance. Because one does not beget the other… oh nevermind.

I think I am growing weary because I honestly can’t believe we are still having this debate. I can’t believe that we are more than a century after the ignition of Women’s Rights by Susan and Elizabeth and countless other insanely brave women and we have fought for more than 100 years to be equals and yet we still are not. And yet we are still considered weak and stupid and incapable of making smart decisions about functions our bodies go through. What’s next? Outlawing tampons to save hymens? Are we to have virginity sheets again? Or can we FINALLY have a fully functioning society in which 100% of its members are involved and allowed to partake?

I feel tired. I am 25 and I am tired. Because I am fighting the fight of 100 years. This Women’s Day feels like a defeat. I want more than anything to live to see the day when such days are unnecessary because Women are simply equal.

Simply equal.

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy International Women’s Day

  1. Samantha says:

    Your insight never ceases to amaze, inspire, and excited me miss. You are exactly why I’m proud to be a woman and why I’ll never stop fighting and never stop being thoughtful about that fight.
    Cheers.
    Samantha

Leave a Reply

