Children, Please

One of the greatest difficulties I have found in this business of “growing up” is finding the balance between what you want now and what you want in the future, all the while feeling the weight of debt and the wasting of youth. I want to adventure while I am spry and it’s not sad for me to get drunk and stupid in Europe. And yet I know I need to get my credit card paid off and my student loans under control before that can happen.

And then there are the smaller things, like choosing not to go out or buy records because I want to go camping this summer or go to music festivals. It’s so hard choosing later over now, all the while knowing I shouldn’t be doing any of it because I’m in so much debt.

And then Virginia passes laws that blatantly laugh at womens rights and the congressional hearing on birth control rights didn’t allow any female testimony and I am sitting back wondering if the world has always been falling apart and I just didn’t notice or if it really is the beginning of the end. I feel like we all just have to sit back and watch it all burn down and hope that when it comes time to rebuild we’ve got the right people in place to do it.

It must have been these feelings that got people all riled up in the 60’s and got them out on the streets and staging sit ins at the offices of Ms magazine. But now we post something on the internet and feel like that makes a difference. Like pandering to the companies that oppress us with hashtags on Twitter instead of marching to their offices and demanding the cease their sexist and misogynist practices and advertisements. Passive activism is the mark of our generation.

Besides Occupy Wallstreet. Which is still happening. Or did you forget because it’s not in the news?

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

