Unemployment: Day 1

Yesterday was my last day of working. I move in a little over a week.

A friend at work was remarking that he loves this period in life, the time between big things, the transition from one thing to another. He said it made him feel free. I am trying to embrace that idea, that this is freedom. Because otherwise I’m scared out of my gourd because when it comes right down to it my only plan is, well, love. And that, as lofty an idea as it is, does not pay the bills.

But maybe it is freedom. I have a few months now to find a job I actually like. Something that will pay me enough to pursue other hobbies. You can’t knit without yarn money and you can’t do theater without a real schedule.

What I learned from my 7 months at a record store:

  • St. Vincent
  • Camera Obscura
  • Guided by Voices
  • I don’t know anything about music
  • Most people are illiterate
  • Everyone likes The Kinks
  • People love to talk about themselves to strangers. Once you get to know someone, mostly you like to complain together.
  • There are a lot of really, really, cool people out there
  • Anything you like, someone out there likes it more. Someone else hates it.
  • You can never get sick of Teen Dream by Beach House, or Merriwether Pavillion by Animal Collective.

Alright. Enough musing. One cannot pack boxes through introspection. No no, one can not.

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unemployment: Day 1

  1. philzzzzzzzzzzz says:

    You’re fun, I like you. Let’s be friends. Can I BONE YOU!? Wait, we’ll live together, so the answer is yes to being friends.

Leave a Reply

