Sasquatch can Suck It

I suffer from near crippling social jealousy. It is beginning to seriously affect the rest of my life. I can’t seem to keep myself happy when I know other people are having what could be conceived as more fun. And subsequently I have a horrible time trying to be happy for others who get to experience things I wish I was doing.

This ranges from sudden distaste for my whole life based on other peoples better framed facebook pictures to now, which is where I threw a literal tantrum after saying goodbye to Boyfriend who is going to Sasquatch without me. I am going on a trip myself starting Friday morning, but I am overwhelmed by a feeling of being horribly left out. Tonight I am home alone, have to wake up early, and now no longer have the option of Boyfriend time. And all anyone will talk about is fucking Sasquatch.

And this is the spiral I get caught in. I can’t seem to muster excitement for my own, measurably awesome, weekend plans.

Does anyone else feel this way? How the hell do I end this spiral? Going out is not an option, no one I know has a car so I have an hour wait at least to see someone and I have to work early anyways. What do I do? I can’t keep doing this every time I get left out. It’s starting to affect my sleeping habits, eating habits, drinking habits… it’s getting out of control.

Maybe I’ve grown out of loving being alone. Fuck.

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sasquatch can Suck It

  1. Tiger Gray says:

    I read a helpful article recently that suggested it’s easy to feel envy based on facebook because facebook lends itself to people only posting the great moments of their lives. So to you it’s like, god look at all the fun those people are having in their great pictures! And yet your life is like, maybe two great things with a long swath of little disappointments and paying bills and being sick in between. The thing is, everyone else on your social media lists are experiencing the same in between things. But they’re only posting the good stuff, so it sets up a false notion that they’re just going to parties and falling in love and getting new jobs etc nonstop. I don’t know if that helps but it might offer you some perspective.

  2. Chris says:

    This is the first time I am not going to Sasquatch in 6 years. I feel similarly horrendous. My personal journey of buying a ticket, slowly realizing none of my friends were going, then psyching myself up to go along only to change my mind and sell my ticket at the last minute, has been gut wrenching and emotional. Nevermind that I have seen most of the highlight bands multiple times already. Nevermind that I used the money from the ticket sale toward a new camera. No, no. I can’t possibly be happy about not going.

    And so this weekend I will venture to the wild forests of Snohomish County. There I will stumble through the underbrush, naked and slathered with peanut butter, praying to wander onto a bear trail. Please, unruly Darrington bears, raise your mighty paws and end my suffering.

  3. hey hey, scheide here or more commonly known to you as Rosie’s boyfriend. My mind? iIt’s normal to feel what you are but I will pose a question that may help your query: Would you be throwing this type of tantrum if say it wasn’t Phil going? Just another random friend you said goodbye to?

    Perhaps it’s a combination of not having “boyfriend time” but also missing out on “experiences with said boyfriend.” You both obviously enjoy spending time together and want to share memories & moments, not just minutes with each other. This is a memory for him that you’re not going to share and I think that sucks more than just missing out on the festival.

    As for getting over it, well my advice only works if what I said above is true. This is only a 4 or 5 day stint. Yes it’s a rad festival. And yes, it’d be great to experience it with him. But if you’re seriously in the long hall with a man whose named I almost (and I still consider this) tattooed on my arm, then take this consolation: you’re going to have a lot more moments, memories & minutes with him. more than you’ll know what to do with. and this festival won’t be able to compete with that.

    hope that helps. and keep your chin up.

  4. Mikey says:

    I’ve never been to Sasquatch, and I know the feeling all too well. PAX, Norwescon, or just the going away party for K & K that happened at your place a little while back…

    Heck, I’ve been dealing with this since grade school. My inner therapist points out that when I DO manage to go do everything that’s cool that anyone I know is doing, I

    A) Am tired beyond imagining, and can’t fully enjoy ANY of it because I want to sleep/punch something more than anything.

    B) Am dead broke because all that stuff entails travel costs, tickets, concessions/t-shirts/donations/bailing friends out of jail

    C) I realize that I haven’t done anything original in a while, that all my ‘fun’ has been manufactured. Granted, some of it is stuff I truly love, but my most memorable memories with the people I’ve loved involve moments in the same old living room watching a movie, or that time we went to the park by our houses and chased ducks, or that time on the school theatre steps when I made them laugh for twenty minutes straight (and the phrase ‘humor priapism’ was born)

    So to sum up, opportunities for unexpected activities and people abound when this sort of thing happens.

    P.S. Thanks for the rare (for me, lately) opportunity to be the one talking someone else out of a funk. <345

Leave a Reply

