It used to MEAN something.

I went to a really wonderful concert last night (Josh Ritter, what a charmer) and pretty much every part of it was enjoyable. But, and this is not Ritter’s fault, one thing drove me crazy like it always does.

When was it exactly that leaving the stage briefly at the end of a show just to come back not even 5 minutes later and play three more songs became what we call an encore? Wasn’t there a time, deep back in our parents past, that it was not a guaranteed thing that the band would come back after they left? You had to shout, holler, work yourselves in to a frenzy and be the best audience you could possibly be to earn that. Now it just happens no matter what. Bands write it in to their set lists. So why do we bother with the pretense of having them leave? I don’t want to have to shout to get the last three songs we all know you are going to play.

Drives me nutty.

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It used to MEAN something.

  1. Rb. says:

    At one of Carissa’s Wierd’s last shows they got to the end of their set and stated that they’d rather not leave and come back on so, “consider this the encore”, and continued for a few more. It was amazing because someone finally acknowledged the awkward formality.

    Because you, you’re right.

    • Charlotte says:

      It’s bothered me since I my second concert ever when I realized that the audience hadn’t even had to try. I though I hard earned the first one, had gained some epic right to those last few songs. I was pretty well shattered when I realized they were expected, accounted for even.

Leave a Reply

