If music is my lover, you are just a tease

So, here’s a big sort-of secret about me. I am really behind in the music scene. I mean, I started on the Arcade Fire about 2 years ago, for goodness’ sake. And even worse, the most pro-feminist rock n’ roll I own is the Distillers (which is great, but minimal.)

So here is my official call to arms and plea for help. I feed off of music like a plant feeds off of the sun and I am in need of some really great feminist rock. I know it is out there.

Ok, a disclaimer:
I have to admit to a few suggestions I don’t need. Tori Amos, I know, is a fantastic feminist artist. I just don’t like her that much. I’m sorry, I like her lyrics and I appreciate what she’s doing, but it’s just not my jam. Neither is Melissa Ethridge. It’s just not the music I like to listen to much.

I am talking ass kicking, guitar slamming, angry and joyful and powerful rock and fucking roll here. Or anything that has made you think “Fuck yeah I’m a feminist!”

I need a soundtrack for when I am ranting and raving and feeling really proud of being a woman.

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If music is my lover, you are just a tease

  1. cj says:

    CRASS
    THE ALBUM ‘PENIS ENVY’

    F’reals.

  2. Rosie says:

    My Fuck Yeah Feminism playlist usually includes:
    Hole (ie Celebrity Skin, not the shit CL has put out recently)
    Classic Grrrl Power bands such as Sleater Kinney, and L7
    Modern stuff like Visqueen
    Bif Naked (sometimes)
    Jack off Jill

  3. Aurora RuPert says:

    Le Tigre (esp. Feminist Sweepstakes)
    Julie Ruin
    Sleater-Kinney
    Bikini Kill

    Also:
    the Yeah Yeahs
    The Blow
    X
    X-Ray Specs

  4. Aurora RuPert says:

    Oops. I forgot a Yeah in between Yeah and Yeahs.

  5. Charlotte says:

    Oh man oh man, I just finally got about all of this music collected and have started diving in and… woah…

    Who wants to start a band with me? Because this makes me want to be a rock star.

Leave a Reply

