A short break from question raising to brag about a fabulous experience.

Last Saturday, I volunteered with the lovely ladies over at Bitch magazine during the 11th annual Alberta Street Art Hop. I had signed up to be a contestant on the feminist pop culture quiz show “I can haz feminism?” but because of various slow-goings ended up hanging out most of the day and watching some amazing things. First off, it was so inspiring and grounding to meet and chat with so many young active women who are dressin’ cute and kickin’ ass. I watched a band from Girls Rock camp, three couldn’t-be-older-than-16 year-olds rock my face off. I got to see pure energy in motion during a two-female drum pile (what else do you call something so percussive?) And then I took part in the quiz show and won, my prize of choosing being a $75 gift certificate to 1928 tattoo! And you ask, what has feminism done for me lately? Plenty.
I got a sunburn, a fresh kick in my step, and the first large portion of my next tattoo paid for. I love young feminism, I love this city, and I love where this movement is going.
What a fantastic day!

About Charlotte

In an attempt to figure it all out, I've broken the world up in to tiny pieces and am conquering them one at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

